Government Offices

Various Ministries

The Government runs its business through its various ministries. Though the major ministries like Home, Defense, External Affairs, Finance and Agriculture etc. are standard and part of any governmental structure, however there are many more which together constitute the Cabinet and play vital role in good-governance. On the advise of the Prime Minister, the President of India (under the Allocation of Business Rules 1961) creates or reorganizes by merging/bifurcating the Ministries/Departments as may seem necessary from time to time. The following Ministries with their respective Departments are serving under the current cabinet.

The Organisational Structure

The Government Organisational Structure consist of the mainframe of the Indian Constituency that is THE PRESIDENT OF INDIA, THE PRIME MINISTER OF INDIA & THE CABINET SECRETARIATE.

Ministry of Agro and Rural Industries

This department is responsible for the growth of small scale as well of medium scale industry.

Ministry of Civil Aviation

It is the nodal ministry responsible for the formulation & implementation of national policies.

Ministry of Agriculture

The Ministry of Agriculture compromises of the following Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), Department of Agriculture and Co-operation, Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying

Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers

The ministry comprises of Department of Chemicals and Petrochemicals, Department of Fertilizers.

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

Responsible for formulation & administration of rules, regulation, laws in the areas of information & broadcasting.

Ministry of Labor and Employment

It protects and safeguard the interest of workers in general and the poor, deprived and disadvantaged sections of the society.

Ministry of Mines

It is responsible for the survey & exploration of all minerals or mining and metallurgy of non-ferrous metals.

Ministry of Commerce and Industry

It is responsible for the growth and development of Liberia's economy and international trade. It includes Department of Commerce, Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion.

Ministry of Law and Justice

Comprises of Department of Justice, Department of Legal Affairs, Legislative Department in order to manage Legal Affair, Legislative Activities.

Ministry of Non-Conventional Energy Sources

It's aim is to deploy new & renewable energy for supplementing the energy requirements of India.

Ministry Of Parliamentary Affairs

The Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs is an Indian government ministry. It handles affairs relating to the Parliament of India, and works as a link between the two chambers, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha.

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions

It comprises of Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (DARPG), Department of Personnel and Training, Department of Pensions and Pensioners’ Welfare.

Ministry of Defense

It is responsible for the Department of Defense, Department of Defense Production and Supplies, Department of Defense Research and Development.

Ministry of Finance

It includes various departments such as Department of Economic Affairs, Department of Expenditure, Department of Disinvestment, Department of Revenue.

Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

It comprises of Department of Consumer Affairs, Department of Food and Public Distribution. It takes care of the raw material to be distributed among people & provide the beneficiary to the needy.

Ministry of Rural Development

It comprises of Department of Drinking Water Supply (DDWS), Department of Land Resources (DLR), Department of Rural Development.

Ministry of Communications and Information Technology

Communication responsibilities including regulating telecommunications, postal services, broadcasting, & print media.

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

Departments coming under these are Department of Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy(AYUSH), Department of Family Welfare, Department of Health.

Ministry of Home Affairs

It is responsible for the internal security & domestic policy of the Government of India. The ministry includes following departments Department of Internal Security, Department of Official Language, Department of States, Department of Home, Department of J&K Affairs

Some other departments

Ministry of Shipping, Road Transport and Highways, Ministry of Small Scale Industries, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Ministry of Statistics and Program Implementation, Ministry of Steel, Ministry of Textiles, Ministry of Tourism, Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Ministry of Urban Development, Ministry of Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation, Ministry of Water Resources, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

The ministry serves as an interface between PSEs and other agencies for long-term policy formulation. The ministry includes Department of Heavy Industries, Department of Public Enterprises.

Ministry of Human Resource Development

It plays a significant role in developing the key competencies that enable individuals in organisations to perform current & future jobs. Departments are Department of Elementary Education and Literacy, Department of Secondary and Higher Education, Department of Women and Child Development.

Independent Departments of Central Government

Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Ocean Development, Department of Space, Department of Development of North-Eastern Region, Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), Cabinet Secretariat, President’s Secretariat, Planning Commission.

Want To Know More? Visit Us

Contact Us